2019 Junior Steer Classic

As part of the Calgary Stampede’s commitment to developing the next generation of agriculture advocates, the Junior Steer Classic show is entirely oriented to youth competitors aged 9-21 years. There are over $73,000 in scholarships and prizes available in 2019.

NEW for 2019:  The Quality Beef Program will be discontinued for 2019.

Currently the committee is working on finalizing their rules for the 2019 Junior Steer Classic and will be posted by March 1.

Entries will open April 15, 2019.



Criteria for the 2019 Herdsman Scholarship and Digital Networking Scholarship is available in the Awards section.


Event Dates and Location

Event Date: July 14, 2019
Move in Date: July 12, 2019 7:00 AM
Release Date: July 14, 2019 8:00 PM
Early Entry Date: June 7, 2019 4:00 PM
Entry Closing Date: June 21, 2019 4:00 PM
Location: Ag Building










Please see information below regarding the 2019 Junior Steer Classic criteria for the Digital Networking and Herdsman Scholarships. If there are any changes, the scholarship criteria documents will be updated with the most current information as comes available.

Herdsman Scholarship

Digital Networking Scholarship




Anyone entering Canada must have a valid Passport.

Non-residents of Canada will be subject to a 15% withholding tax on all prize monies awarded as required by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Non-residents of Canada may apply to the CRA to have the 15% withholding tax returned.  To file a claim with the CRA, complete and submit the following information:

 Canada Revenue Agency Non Withholding Tax Return Information


David Farran (Livestock Competitions Committee Chair), Dave Lantz (Livestock Competitions Director Liaison), Craig Scott (Jr. Steer Classic Sub-Committee Chair), Katie Songer (Jr. Steer Classic Sub-Committee 1st Vice Chair), Rees Smith (Jr. Steer Classic Sub-Committee 2nd Vice Chair), Brody Gardner (Past Chair), Kristin Dennett (Agriculture Program Manager), Scott Bohrson, Scott Dickson, Ryan Dorran, Rob Lundago, Don Miller, Kyle O'Neill, Doug Roxburgh, Katie Roxburgh, Rhiannon Sacks, Fred Taylor, Zac Taylor